Skip to Main Content

NYSTIA Honors Andrew Nixon for Service

Nov 8, 2017

Watkins Glen, NY – Andrew Nixon, Executive Director of the Chautauqua County Visitors Bureau, was recognized for his excellence in service as Treasurer of the New York State Tourism Industry Association (NYSTIA), during its annual business meeting held October 26 and 27 in Watkins Glen, NY.

Mr. Nixon has served as Treasurer since 2014, when NYSTIA was formed by the merger of the New York State Travel & Vacation Association and the Tourism Promotion Agencies Council of New York State. His term as Treasurer comes to a close as of the end of this year, but Mr. Nixon will remain on the volunteer board as a director.

According to Jill Delaney, NYSTIA President and CEO, Mr. Nixon's guidance and advocacy during and after the merger played an important role in ensuring the new association's success. “Andrew has been a dedicated manager of the association's finances, ensuring that we started on steady footing with the necessary stability to grow. He is a trusted and well-regarded professional in the New York State tourism industry, and we are fortunate to have him be among our leaders sitting at the table."

Ms. Delaney and Awards Committee Chairperson Patrick Kaler presented Mr. Nixon with the award during the membership breakfast hosted by TripAdvisor at the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel on October 27.

NYSTIA's Excellence in Service award recipients are nominated each year by fellow NYSTIA members and are voted on by committee. Awards are presented in conjunction with NYSTIA's Annual Meeting and Tourism Excellence Awards Dinner. Nominees are considered based on their support of and service to NYSTIA's mission of collaboration, research, legislative awareness and exceptional marketing on behalf of the statewide tourism industry.

The previous evening, winners of the 2017 Tourism Excellence Awards were announced during ceremonies at The Glen Club of Watkins Glen International. Recipients were presented with awards, sponsored by AAA Magazines. Meredith Travel Marketing provided a reception for the honorees and attendees, followed by a dinner, hosted by Advance Media New York.

Listed below are the 2017 NYSTIA Tourism Excellence Awards winners:

Excellence in Tourism Marketing
Private Sector Effort
Animal Adventure Park, Harpursville, NY
“April the Giraffe" Multi-Media Marketing Campaign

Excellence in Tourism Marketing
Statewide Effort
New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation
New York State Parks Social Media Program

Excellence in Tourism Marketing
Regional Effort
Visit Buffalo Niagara, Buffalo, NY
Buffalo Niagara Garden Tourism Initiative

Excellence in Tourism Marketing
County Effort
Sullivan County Visitors Association, Ferndale, NY
“Sullivan Catskills - Experience the Good Life" Multi-Media Campaign

Cultural Heritage Award – Small Budget Entity
Wayne County Office of Tourism, Lyons, NY
Wayne County Apple Tasting Tour

Cultural Heritage Award – Large Budget Entity
National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum, Cooperstown, NY
PASTIME: The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum's Online Collection

Visitor Services Award
Visit Buffalo Niagara, Buffalo, NY
Visit Buffalo Niagara University

Excellence in Leadership
Kelly Rapone, Tourism Director
Genesee County Chamber of Commerce, Batavia, NY

Excellence in Tourism Economic Development
New York Power Authority Niagara Power Project, Lewiston, NY
Niagara Power Vista & Discover Niagara Shuttle

Partner in Tourism – Business or Association
Mary Jo Savino, Operator, Corning, NY

Partner in Tourism – Individual
Harvey Botzman, Rochester, NY
New York Bicycling Coalition

Excellence in Service
For Service as NYSTIA Board Treasurer 2014-2017
Andrew Nixon, Chautauqua County Visitors Bureau

The New York State Tourism Industry Association ( is a statewide membership based organization for travel and tourism related businesses. NYSTIA is a 501c6, New York State not-for-profit Corporation engaged in the business of advocacy, leadership, marketing and professional development.


Photo: Left to Right: Patrick Kaler, NYSTIA Awards Committee Chairperson; Andrew Nixon, NYSTIA Treasurer & Executive Director of the Chautauqua County Visitors Bureau; and Jill Delaney, NYSTIA President & CEO. Photo credit: Clark CSM Marketing Communications